The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-11-14 -

Late-Night Geek Behavior

Argh. I had trouble getting to sleep last night, and then got paged in the AM, thus creating a nasty headachy condition that followed me around most of the day. Sleeping through the afternoon cured it, but now I have to catch up on work, so we may well end up right back in the same spot tomorrow.

The installation of my new Plextor CD-ROM burner and rounded IDE cables went almost disturbingly smoothly. I'm stoked. Now I can back up all my digital photos to CD and take them into the office. I never really thought about that advantage of going digital, but it really rocks. I have albums full of old-style photos, and they'd be just plain gone if there was a fire. I suppose a film photographer could make two complete sets of prints for himself and always keep one set off-site, but there's still only one negative, and you can't copy it without generation loss. With digital I can copy an entire year's images, original *and* retouched, for under a buck. I like it.

Now if I could just afford a digital SLR, I'd be really set.

The other nice thing about the Plextor is that it rips almost twice as fast as my DVD-ROM drive. It extracts WAV files *far* faster than LAME can turn them into MP3s. I think I may put my rip project on hold until I rebuild this computer next year, as I'm filling up my hard drive disturbingly quickly, I won't need the files until after the upgrade anyway, and the need to plan ahead is quite a bit less if I can simultaneously rip 1 CD at 3x and another at 6.5X.

My name is Outrage, and I'm a total geek.

Previous entry: Poor Bear (Not Mer)

Next entry: Fiddling While

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!