The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-06-19 - 11:42 p.m.

Growth and Revenge

I was talking to a friend today who said she'd like to have a stunt double to stand in for her during the more obnoxious parts of her life. I pointed out that if one didn't live through those bad parts, one couldn't get revenge on the people who caused them. In the ensuing conversation I came up with this principle:

All difficult situations create opportunities for either personal growth or revenge. (Possibly both.)

As I think back through the really nasty situations I've been in, I think that really holds true for me. I also think that any of those choices work far better than whinging about it, which some former acquaintances were fond of. I have a lot more respect for people who take charge of their lives.

I also wish there was a legal way to make a living in the revenge-for-hire trade. Alas, that law is unlikely to change no matter how many letters I write to my Congressman. Revenge has gotten a bad name in our society. Silly society.

Then again, I don't currently have time to defend myself against all the idiots I brush off, so it may be for the best.

Previous entry: Boring!

Next entry: I Demand Less Tolerance

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!