The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-04-17 -

I Suspect Fraud

From now on I'm saving every piece of tracking info I get from FedEx. Something went just a little haywire today, and I can't believe it was me.

I ordered a used bass speaker cabinet over the internet from a specialty store. They shipped it to me FedEx ground. A week later, on Monday 4/15, I called and asked for the tracking info, so I could be home when the 106lb package arrived. I got the number and went to FedEx's web site. It said delivery 4/17. That would be today.

It never showed.

I checked the tracking info again (after working from home and missing the office blood drive for what turned out to be no good reason). It now says delivery on 4/19. And that the ship date was 4/12. I'm pretty sure I didn't mix 17 and 19 up, and I'm also pretty sure that I would have noticed if the ship date said 4/12 when I checked on 4/15. It would be sort of a catchy number, since it implies that the store (a very reputable store) waited four business days to get my order out the door.

My theory is that FedEx missed a connection somewhere, and some flunky decided to avoid damaging his average delivery time record by just changing a bunch of ship dates. But I can't prove anything, because I don't have any evidence except my own memory. I'll just have to call it a bad day and put up with picking the package up at the apartment complex office after work on Friday. Still... am I irritated? You may safely assume so. This diary ain't called "Outrage" for nothin'.

Previous entry: Manipulation

Next entry: Weekend Update

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!