The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-06-18 - 1:54 a.m.

Father's Day at the Shooting Range

I had a really nice weekend. Began Saturday by going shooting with my father, and we really enjoyed this spurt of sunny weather. I was sort of saddened to discover that his M-1 carbine, which I loved to shoot as a kid, is now too small for me. I could manage it in the offhand standing position, but trying to shoot it from a bench rest gave my a cramp. I console myself that with luck, Liralyn will get her ten or so years of enjoyment out of it sometime. On a more positive note, I can say that if I ever happen to be attacked by a small piece of paper when my rifle is nearby, I will conclusively defeat said paper.

I then went to Eastpoint to pick up my paintball gun from the shop. That required me to experience "The Cruise", Detroit's classic car gathering. If one must be stuck in stop and go traffic (and generally speaking, one must be so stuck, if one wishes to travel by car from Ann Arbor to Detroit) it's nice to be stuck in really nice traffic. I now feel a sort of vague lust to own an old Road Runner, although my lack of funds for new hobbies and awareness that such cars require lots of TLC will keep that fantasy from becoming reality.

Today I got together with Julie, went running, went out to dinner with Julie and Liralyn, and then did some errand running.

I feel bad that this diary has been devoid of anything interesting lately. I'm trying to come up with some grand statement on It All, but I'm not getting far. The only thing I could find in this weekend was the recurring theme of "Outrage tries to hold on to the good parts of his childhood and deny the rest", which I think I've already done to death.

Previous entry: Routine

Next entry: Boring!

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!