The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-08-29 -

Is It Friday Yet?

I've spent lots of time this week doing final tweaks on Julie's new computer. That has involved staying there after Liralyn went to bed, which in turn meant no time for writing in the diary. Sorry if you missed me. If you didn't miss me, *you* should be worry, you rude bastard.

Anyway, tonight we finally got the computer put on the new computer desk Julie ordered, hooked up her old LaserWriter, and actually ran an analysis in SPSS. I was sort of surprised by the differences Julie noticed. Doing some basic analysis was about 8 times faster on the new box, which is certainly a good score but not a paradigm-changing one. I was hoping that with the change from 40mb of RAM to 512mb, she'd see *huge* increases in speed. Instead, she was huge increases in the speed with which SPSS saved the file after processing. Why the heck was the Pentium taking so long to save? It's just freaky. Anyway, Julie was pleased with its performance, and that's good enough. When you're dating someone who has no interest in geek toys, you sometimes have to get by on relatively faint praise.

Then again, who am I kidding? Julie had learned how to survive that old laptop. To her, a new computer just means a new routine to learn. This is all about satisfying my basic loathing of what I usually refer to as "untertechnology".

Yay me.

Anyway, after a week of messing with computers at work and at "home", I'm looking forward to a very relaxing weekend of not doing a damn thing I don't want to do.

Previous entry: But why?

Next entry: Always Dug the New Routines

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!