The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-06-07 -

I Hate Software Developers, Still

Yesterday I hung out with Julie and Liralyn after work. Hanging with Liralyn doesn't make up for bad days at work but it beats going home and stewing in the venemous sauce of my pent-up wrath.

It's been one of those weeks at work, when the forces of sanity and competence (represented, naturally enough, by myself) lost out to the forces of being a butthead and leaving people no choice. At times I wonder: why didn't I ever become a developer? It's obvious that if you develop software and work for the right company, you will never, ever, be held accountable for the quality of your work. If you manage a group of developers you're even less touchable- the worse your group gets, the nearer you get to your deadlines, and the more important your contribution to the project seems.

If you're a developer and this hurts your feelings, bite me. You are condemned by your profession.

My only relief in all this is that the project managers see it the same way, and they're reasonably neutral. The stupid developers have been a thorn in my side for so long that if I didn't have some confirmation, I'd be wondering if my expectations weren't fundamentally unrealistic.

Oh yeah, and I got to hang out with The Little Redheaded Girl tonight. She works for the same thuggish telco and feels my pain. That's always nice.

Previous entry: Adams and Jefferson and Bears, Oh My!

Next entry: Lost the Zone

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!