The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-02-02 - 10:41:01 PM

Death

I found out today that my long-time acquaintance Kevin Corr died yesterday, washed overboard the cruiser he served on. Nev (his nickname) and I weren't real close, but we had a couple of good times together, especially the time four of us road-tripped to Buffalo to catch Rush in concert there. He was a good man.

His death hits me a little harder than it should have because it's so unexpected, if not downright bizarre. When a buddy quits his no-future job and joins the Navy, you figure he'll put in a few years and come back with added character, some serious training in some field, and a good future. You don't expect him to kick off in a freak accident. As I said to Julie at dinner, falling off a ship just doesn't sound like something that should happen to people.

I've never reacted normally to death. I've lost an aunt, both my grandfathers, and my maternal grandmother. All of them were known to be in ill health for a while, and I had what most people would consider a very cold reaction when the bad news finally arrived. My family doesn't do funerals, either. We cremate and move on. I usually feel bad and want to spend some more time with my loved ones, but I don't break down in tears or meditate on the transient nature of flesh or do much serious grieving. Sometimes I think there's something wrong with that.

Today is one of those days.

Previous entry: Finally, time to rest

Next entry: Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, Cranky Me

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!