The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-03-05 - 3:24:33 PM

Slipping Standards

Today was the first conference call I had with my director since my manager (who previously sat between me and the director on the org chart) was laid off. It went every bit as smashingly as I expected.

He told me about his desire to sit down with me and talk about what I was working on. I pointed out that I sent him a page-and-a-half report on Friday outlining just that. He explained that he hadn't read it yet. Which is just swell.

That in and of itself isn't a disaster, but it's a good example of why this company irks me sometimes. It's not just that people don't communicate well. When someone *does* communicate, everyone else is so confused by this departure from the norm that they ignore it and continue to act as if communication isn't happening. In which case, what's the point?

Look, I hate hypocrisy as much as the next guy. I'm not just whining about everybody else and hoping they'll carry my weight. I want to work someplace where there's a uniformly high standard. I want people who fail to meet that standard to be fired for cause. I want people who meet that standard to be rewarded for it.

I also want a personal jet, and I think my chances of getting any of those things are just about the same.

Previous entry: The Lyrics to My Madness

Next entry: I Have No Idea

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!