The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-01-30 - 01:52:54 AM

Towers o' Blocks

Wheee! Just coming off a record-setting 3 1/3 hour painting binge. Remember yesterday, when I said I was a slow painter? No lie, folks, no lie.

I would have been done a lot earlier if I hadn't spent most of the evening at Julie's, of course. I picked Liralyn up from day care so that Julie could stay at work a little later. Liralyn did not want to leave the day care center- apparently she was in a serious groove playing on the slide. But of course once we were halfway home she started making sad noises and telling me she wanted her Mommy. Ah, the contrary nature of 2-year-olds.

Her current mania at home is building towers out of blocks. She's suprisingly good at it. Just this week she's begun to get attuned to the importance of keeping her towers neat, so that they don't become unbalanced and topple over. Every so often she makes a big deal of straightening them out. My project is to see how far I can cantilever the blocks out. I'm only up to one block so far, although I doubt that's a physical limit. Rather, by the time I'm getting enough weight in the center to hold the next outstretched block in place, Liralyn is getting ready to kick the tower over.

If we assume God is a toddler, we then have a perfect explanation for the way that life just keeps throwing curveballs.

Previous entry: It May or May Not Be Good to Be Me

Next entry: Finally, time to rest

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!