The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-04-26 - 4:33 p.m.

A Boring Day with Collision Damage

It's hard to come up with a decent diary entry when all I've done since my last entry is game, eat, and work. Oh, and somewhere in there I watched some TV and read some more Iain Banks.

I could talk about Iain Banks, but all I could say would be that as of the end of Chapter One, I have no idea where the book will go. I could say the same thing of every book of his I've ever read.

I refuse to write diary entries about playing Warhammer 40k. Although I will take a brief moment to gloat about my state of glib. Matt was talking about how he's low on the stands that miniatures sit on, which we call bases. He asked Gary if Gary would use his resin-casting set up to make some more bases for him. Before Gary could reply, I was right there with, "No, he can't. Because all his base are belong to me."

I have no life whatsoever.

As I drove to work today, I found myself keeping more distance than usual from the car in front of me. It had an obvious dent in the rear from a collision, and I didn't want to be its next victim. Of course, given that it was a dent in the rear of the car, the collision was probably some other driver's fault. I felt silly for a minute, then changed my mind.

Right or wrong, I just can't believe that anyone with so little pride in their vehicle that they don't bother to get collision damage repaired can be a really safe driver. Intellectually I understand that fixing stuff costs money and takes time, and that people might want to, say, pay the rent instead of paying the deductible on their insurance. Emotionally, I look at their cars and think, "How can they stand to drive something that looks like that?"

Don't judge me too harshly, folks. I grew up in Birmingham, Michigan. If my only form of snobbishness is sneering at beaten-up cars, I got off pretty lightly.

Previous entry: 3 plus 3 is 6

Next entry: Use Opera

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!