The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-05-07 - 5:48 p.m.

Zoo trips and battleships

Long time, no entry. Yow.

On Friday I took the day off to take Liralyn to the zoo. Her Mom and my parents also came along, and we had a fairly good time, although Liralyn was a wee bit moody, and there were some real jerks on the zoo train with us. I had trouble sleeping the night before that, so I ended up making the trip on four hours sleep. I came home and went to bed at 9:30, then woke up at 3am. Oops.

Saturday I got together with Marc, Stacy, Gary, and Todd S to watch "The Mummy Returns". It didn't suck, but I wanted a bigger role for The Rock. I hear he gets to be the Big Bad in the next installment, so that will rock.

Sunday I painted minis, spent time with the sprout, and watched Twister on DVD. I'd never seen all of Twister before and I enjoyed it quite a bit. I found it difficult to keep in mind that, as adrenaline sports go, racing tornados cross-country in an SUV looks cool but carries large risks. Also, in real life you can't hear the soundtrack.

Still, I found myself once again longing for a Subaru WRX.

Reading-wise, I finally finished D.K. Brown's "The Grand Fleet", an account of British shipbuilding history from 1906 through 1922. Brown writes well and has some interesting comments on never-built designs, but I think he's heinously biased in favor of British designs over their foreign counterparts. All my intellectual heavy lifting over the weekend pivoted around the question of whether the British G3 battleship design could have *really* defeated an American Iowa-class had the G3's been built. I very much doubt any of you want to hear about that.

Previous entry: Marillion and Anarchy

Next entry: Where's My Rack?

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!