The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-05-17 - 12:33 a.m.

Anything But Time

I did a wonderful thing today- I got up before noon when I didn't even have to. Aren't you all just dripping with pride for me?

What's that? You could care less? OK, I'll come in again.

Julie suggested that I should just face facts and stop trying to get important stuff done at night. Presumably if I did it earlier in the day, it would be done by bed time and I could sleep more. It sounds like a good idea, but in the morning I work. If I spend the morning hours balancing my checkbook and painting minis and go into work when all that is done, I doubt leaving the office at 5:30pm will work anymore.

I don't know what the solution really is, other than more efficient time management. It ought to get easier once Julie and I live together. Aside from the obvious benefit in terms of travel time, living with Liralyn would let me go do Jason stuff when Liralyn watches TV, instead of having to sit with her and read. I don't always mind the reading time, of course, but some nights it doesn't work well.

Monday, for example, I had to work out, balance my checkbook, update Liralyn's accounts, backup the computer, and defrag the disk. Granted, the backup and the defrag were hands-off activities, but I didn't even get to start on that list until 10:30. If we all lived together, I'd have been able to balance the books while the sprout watched Barney.

All that, and I could write off the interest on the mortgage. If Julie and I can figure out how to stand living together, next year could rock.

Previous entry: Sit up straight!

Next entry: Return to the Wild

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!