The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-07-15 -

Happy Birthday to Liralyn

This is another one of those calm-before-the-storm sort of entries. Yesterday was Liralyn's birthday party. Tomorrow is her actual birthday. Having had the party over the weekend means there will not be company, but there will certainly be an extremely excited girl who needs lots of chasing around the room. Then Wednesday I'm taking a day trip with friends to see Rush in Toronto, from which will shall not return until three or four in the morning. Thursday is a more or less ordinary day, if I can manage to get out of bed. (I've scheduled it as a vacation day, on the assumption that I will probably not be able to get out of bed.) Friday is a Great Big Sea concert in Royal Oak, and Saturday is the day of the Michigan Monster Game, assuming anyone will go with me, or the day of the Ann Arbor Art Fair and a North gig.

Good grief.

Liralyn's party yesterday was excellent. I think that even The Kayla had a good time, and I had some anxieties about that. She was the only person in the 6-10 age bracket at the party (except for the brief interval when the neighbor's kid was there) and that didn't seem to promise lots of entertainment. Luckily she was there with Mer, who is a one-woman entertainment genre. Anyway, Liralyn had a great time, although she got pretty worn out and decided to leave the party and go fishing before she was done with all her presents.

So I went "fishing" with Liralyn, which involved me watching her flail around with her fishing pole a lot. I tried to convince her to let me teach her how to cast (it seemed like a good time for it, since she didn't have a hook on her line) but she wanted no part of my boring grown-up learn how to do things death culture. Sometimes I'm a better engineer than a dad.

Previous entry: Bored Now

Next entry: Rush

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!