The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-01-16 -

Why Outrage Doesn't Write

I realized this morning that I've been thinking a lot about politics lately. That partially explains my lack of entries recently. I don't like ranting about politics here. My views on various topics tend to either bore or irritate people, and truth be told, I'm not real interested in pimping them here. In theory a diary should be something I might read later, and I've never ever wanted to wax nostalgic about my political views of yore.

In times where the President is flirting with war and attacking affirmative action, abortion, and the First Amendment, while the media keeps taking aim at the Second, it's hard to get away from politics. Liralyn watches the cartoon "Liberty Kids" and from it received the impression that we still had the draft or something like it- that is, that people she knows might be forced to go off and fight a war. Julie told her that Mommy and Daddy are too old to be made to go fight, so today Liralyn suggested that we should warn Mer. (I didn't know she paid attention to the ages of our grown-up friends, but it's certainly nice that she thinks about them.)

Anyway... I guess I wanted to get it down, for anyone who might be forming an opinion of me solely from these pages, that my not writing an entry or writing that nothing much happened doesn't necessarily mean that I sat on the couch and watched syndicated reruns all day. I do lots of things, but only the ones I especially want to share or think I'll want to think about in twenty years end up here.

If you really must know what I think about politics, I occasionally mark up the headlines in a blog called "The Agitated Mutterings of a Budding Maniac." Google for it if you must.

Previous entry: Damn You, Jordan

Next entry: Severely Odd Behavior

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!